#1 25TH INFANTRY

25TH INFANTRY

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,268 posts
  • Your Ride:2010 Renegade XXC 800R //// 2011 Outty XXC 800R

Posted 18 May 2017 - 12:14 PM

So my rear drive shaft seal started leak, i pulled the entire unit to replace. Now that i have it out is there anything else i should be looking at replacing or checking. i did order the other o rings and bearing just in case. The piñon is nice and tight no side to side or up and down movement and no oil past the piñon. not sure what else to check as I've never done a repair like this before. any tips or advise on what i should be doing since its out. do i need to regrease the bearing or piñon or can i just use the gear oil or nothing is required?

#2 25TH INFANTRY

25TH INFANTRY

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,268 posts

Posted 18 May 2017 - 12:17 PM

Attached File  IMG_1297.JPG   47.95KB   4 downloads

Attached File  IMG_1299.JPG   64.86KB   4 downloads

#3 story5253

story5253

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Your Ride:2017 Outlander XT-P 1000R

Posted 18 May 2017 - 03:25 PM

I have no clue but this sounds like something to follow.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#4 25TH INFANTRY

25TH INFANTRY

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,268 posts

Posted 18 May 2017 - 05:18 PM

Can't get the oil seal out. I have a seal puller and I've tried different sized screw drivers. What's the trick to get them out? I'm afraid to use to much pressure as I do not want to damage the piñon or anything else behind the seal.

#5 ozymax

ozymax

Ozy for short.

• Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,612 posts
  • Interests:Quad riding.
    Geocaching.
    Radio controlled helicopters.
    Hiking.
    4x4 touring this great country.
  • Your Ride:2012 G2 Outlander 650 Max XT

Posted 18 May 2017 - 05:47 PM

I use a smaller sized screw driver and puncature the metal face of the seal, out near the outer edge of the seal.